This is a bridge to Nigeria
This bridge is YOU
This Is A Powerful Country
Everbody Can Change It NOW


Buhari Names More Train Stations after Prominent Nigerians

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

President Muhammadu Buhari on Monday approved the name of some railway stations along the Lagos-Ibadan and the Itakpe-Ajaokuta-Warri corridors after “deserving” Nigerian citizens, Minister of Transport, Chibuike Amaechi announced.


Missing from the list of those honoured was the name of former military leader and civilian president, Olusegun Obasanjo.


Those honoured were Bola Ahmed Tinubu (Apapa station), the late Mobolaji Johnson and first military governor of Lagos State (Ebute Metta Station), and Babatunde Raji Fashola and current minister of Works and Housing (Agege station).


 Others are Lateef Jakande (Agbado station), Vice President Yemi Osinbajo (Kajola station), Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti (Papalanto station), Wole Soyinka (Abeokuta station), and Segun Osoba (Olodo station).


Other are Ladoka Akintola (Omio-Adio station); Obafemi Awolowo (Ibadan station), and Alex Ekwueme (Operations Control Centre),  Adamu Attah (Itakpe Station), Augustus Aikhomu (Itogbo Station), George Innih (Agenebode Station), Anthony Enahoro (Uromi Station), Tom Ikimi (Ekehen Station), Samuel Ogbemudia (Igbanke Station), David Ejoor (Abraka Station), Alfred Rewane (Ujevwu Station) and Mike Akhigbe (Railway Village, Agbor).


Buhari had earlier named one of the stations after Goodluck Jonathan, his immediate predecessor.